News - Recently updated info
Become a member
Design of Experiments

The working group on Design of Experiments (DOE) is interested in various statistical aspects of the planning of experimental research. While the scientific targets of different experiments differ and depend on the application area (e.g. engineering, biology, medicine, chemistry, agriculture, etc.), one statistical methodology is required to achieve them. This unites the interests and effort of group members working in the academia, as well as in specified research areas or industry.

For example, the design of an experiment studying the transformation of a chemical compound to another may require an experimental strategy similar to that needed to study drug availability in a living organism. The reason for that is that in both cases the same type of statistical model has to be estimated using experimental data, albeit with rather different interpretation of the model parameters.

A typical challenge that we face is how much and what data to choose to collect in order to estimate a statistical model that would allow addressing the research questions of the experimental study. The design of experiments may be required to estimate models including linear, nonlinear, linear mixed, nonlinear mixed and generalized linear or nonlinear mixed effects models. Inevitably, many members of the DOE working group are also interested in data analysis and statistical modeling.

Experimental research is iterative by nature, and the specific challenges at each stage are different and often shaped up by the specific areas of applications. In all cases, it has become increasingly common to seek solutions using analytical and computer intensive methods. The Design of Experiments has become a fascinating area of research in Statistics, as well as a powerful way for statisticians to influence developments in other sciences.

Alexander Donev, University of Manchester, UK.
Jesus Lopez-Fidalgo, University of Castilla-La Mancha, Spain.
Roger Payne, VSN International, UK.
  1. M Rauf Ahmad, Uppsala University, Sweden.
  2. Mariano Amo-Salas, University of Castilla-La Mancha, Spain.
  3. Anthony Atkinson, London School of Economics, United Kingdom.
  4. Stefanie Biedermann, University of Southampton, United Kingdom.
  5. Wolfgang Bischoff, Catholic University Eichstaett-Ingolstadt, Germany.
  6. Barbara Bogacka, Queen Mary University of London, United Kingdom.
  7. Alexis Boukouvalas, Aston University, United Kingdom.
  8. Chris Brien, University of South Australia, Australia.
  9. Victor Casero-Alonso, University of Castilla-La Mancha, Spain.
  10. Marion Chatfield, University of Southampton GlaxoSmithKline, United Kingdom.
  11. Rodrigo del Campo, Universidad Salamanca, Spain.
  12. Elvira Delgado-Marquez, University of Castilla - la Mancha, Spain.
  13. Holger Dette, Ruhr-Universitaet Bochum, Germany.
  14. Kevin K Dobbin, University of Georgia, United States.
  15. Alexander Donev, University of Manchester, United Kingdom.
  16. Tsai-Hung Fan, National Central University, Taiwan.
  17. Lenka Filova, Comenius University in Bratislava, Slovakia.
  18. Nancy Flournoy, University of Missouri, United States.
  19. Roberto Fontana, Politecnico di Torino, Italy.
  20. Subir Ghosh, University of California, United States.
  21. Steven Gilmour, University of Southampton, UK.
  22. Peter Goos, Universiteit Antwerpen, Belgium.
  23. Ulrike Groemping, Beuth University of Applied Sciences Berlin, Germany.
  24. Heiko Grossmann, Queen Mary, University of London, UK.
  25. Radoslav Harman, Comenius University in Bratislava, Slovakia.
  26. Linda Heines, University of Cape Town, South Africa.
  27. Ralf-Dieter Hilgers, RWTH University Aachen, Germany.
  28. Linda Lee Ho, University of Sao Paulo, Brazil.
  29. Andrew Hooker, Uppsala University, Sweden.
  30. Shahariar Huda, Kuwait University, Kuwait.
  31. Marc Joets, Banque de France and University of Paris, France.
  32. MingHung Kao, Arizona State University, United States.
  33. Ron Kenett, KPA Israel and University of Turin Italy, Israel.
  34. Kevin Knuth, University at Albany - SUNY, United States.
  35. Maria Konstantinou, University of Southampton, United Kingdom.
  36. Sonja Kuhnt, Dortmund University of Applied Sciences and Arts, Germany.
  37. Sergei Leonov, ICON Clinical Research, United States.
  38. Jesus Lopez-Fidalgo, University of Castilla-La Mancha, Spain.
  39. Ying Lu, Stanford University, United States.
  40. Bergrun Magnusdottir, Stockholm University, Sweden.
  41. Raul Martin-Martin, University of Castilla-La Mancha, Spain.
  42. France Mentre, University Paris Diderot, France.
  43. Frank Miller, Stockholm University, Sweden.
  44. Mirjam Moerbeek, Utrecht University, Netherlands.
  45. Herve Monod, INRA - Institut National de la Recherche Agronomique, France.
  46. Werner Mueller, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria.
  47. Kalliopi Mylona, University of Southampton, UK.
  48. Hans Nyquist, Stockholm University, Sweden.
  49. Roger Payne, VSN International, UK.
  50. Elisa Perrone, University of Massachusetts Lowell, United States.
  51. Greg Piepel, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA.
  52. Fernando Plo, University of Zaragoza, Spain.
  53. Elon Portugaly, Microsoft, United Kingdom.
  54. Fabio Postiglione, University of Salerno, Italy.
  55. Eva Riccomagno, Università degli Studi di Genova, Italy.
  56. M Jesus Rivas-Lopez, University of Salamanca, Spain.
  57. Licesio Rodriguez-Aragon, University of Castilla-La Mancha, Spain.
  58. Juan M Rodriguez-Diaz, University of Salamanca, Spain.
  59. Magda Roszczynska-Kurasinska, University of Warsaw, Poland.
  60. Aiste Ruseckaite, Erasmus University Rotterdam, Netherlands.
  61. Eleonora Saggini, University of Genoa, Italy.
  62. Rainer Schwabe, Otto-von-Guericke University Magdeburg, Germany.
  63. Milan Stehlik, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria.
  64. John Stufken, University of Georgia, USA.
  65. Randy Tobias, SAS Institute, USA.
  66. Chiara Tommasi, University of Milan, Italy.
  67. Ben Torsney, Glasgow, United Kingdom.
  68. Ben Torsney, University of Glasgow, United Kingdom.
  69. Dariusz Ucinski, University of Zielona Gora, Poland.
  70. Martina Vandebroek, K.U. Leuven, Belgium.
  71. Carla Almeida Vivacqua, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Norte, Brasil.
  72. Douglas Wiens, University of Alberta, Canada.
  73. David Woods, University of Southampton, United Kingdom.
  74. C. F. Jeff Wu, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA.
  75. Henry Wynn, London School of Economics, United Kingdom.
  76. Po Yang, University of Manitoba, Canada.
  77. Noha Youssef, American University in Cairo, Egypt.